Sunday, October 02, 2005

Are cheap shoes worth the bother at all?

I bought a pair of Bata shoes last Sunday. Quite out of character. Paraded it at home as I stomped up and down the hall. The green was a pastel soothing grass-green which was reminisent of the pair of clarks I saw two weeks earlier.

Exactly a week later...the shoes made its first outting. My first few steps were a little wobbly. I attributed that to being horizontal for the better part of the morning. But after a bit, my arch felt like it was being pushed into a yoga-like dreaded position. My second toe ( it's always the second toe ) started complaining a bit.

And so, the pair of shoes must retire to the graveyard of shoes. I'm sure the even the poor wouldn't want to be hobbling along.

5 comments:

3e said...

My pet peeve is trying out a pair of shoes at the store. Making the decision to buy it. Only to find out later that it hurts.

edina monsoon said...

I know the feeling well. Used to make a habit out of making bad decisions ....I see the habit growing on me once again.Damm!! :)

Lori Stewart Weidert said...

I have a more difficult time with handbags/purses. I've wasted more money on purses I hate. Finding that my stuff doesn't fit, or getting one in which I have to dump out the contents to find my car keys every time...Purses must have juusst the perfect dig-ability!

edina monsoon said...

Current handbag is a wee denim item. And it houses: car keys, housekeys,handphone,digital camera,rectangular purse, obligatory lipstick and a biro. How's that for managing with the bare essentials??

Kurios1978 said...

I still think BATA is cool... well at least the cheap ass slippers/flip-flops are.

Nope, not quicksilver, my Speedos are too heavy, Clarks ~ a tad too "uncle-ish"... blah blah blah

;)